Who is your comedy hero?

My comedy hero is David Jason, Del-Boy. I watch ‘Only Fools and Horses’ when I need to escape to light laughter and cheeriness. Even after all this time, even though I can recite the words, Del-Boy still makes me laugh. And I really laugh. And the comic genius behind Del-boy is, of course, John Sullivan.

John Sullivan created laughter through great one-liners. Here are some examples:
Del says of Rodney’s pale complexion, ‘you look like a blood donor who couldn’t say no!’
Rodney says of Del’s attire, ‘you make a Christmas tree look sombre!’
These are the lines that I heard whilst feeding my twin daughters their night bottles; these are the lines which made me let out belly laugh after belly laugh at 3 o’clock in the morning. ‘You’re the only person who could possibly be laughing!’ my husband said, secretly relieved that something was keeping me sane during the exhaustion of having two new-borns.

Also, ‘Only Fools and Horses’ was one of the shows that beckoned me to write. I’ve always aspired to be like John Sullivan: his writing was well crafted and always delivered. Watch ‘Only Fools and Horses’ and you will see what I mean. I hope you enjoy it thoroughly.

Happy Viewing,

Kathryn Player.

Leave a Reply

